2017 Annual Athletic Award Nominees

Here are the Nominations for the 2017 Mount Pearl Annual Athletic Awards. Congratulations to everyone on being nominated by your sport, recognizing your valuable contributions and achievements. Finalists to be announced Saturday, January 20th.

Female Athlete of the Year

Ashley Morgan, Skating
• First place at Skate NL provincial and sectional championships.
• Finished 25th at Skate Canada Challenge – the first NL competitor since 2006.

Catherine Ducey, Volleyball
• 5 years with Sea-Hawks Volleyball, helping build it to one of the premier women’s volleyball team in U Sports Canada.
• A huge part of Sea-Hawks second place Atlantic finish for past two years.
• One of the top blockers in Atlantic University Sport (AUS).

Erica Hayward, Track & Field
• Member of Pearlgate and Sea-Hawks Track teams, and winner of PGTFC Senior Female Athlete of the Year, and coaches long jump with PGTFC.
• 1st place long jump at NLAA age class and Canada Games Trials.
• 2nd place in Atlantic long jump competitions and 10th at Canada Games.

Lauren Humby, Rugby
• Dogs RFC and Acadia Axe-Women Rugby.
• A team leader in winning Deacy Cup (Provincial Women’s Champions), and competing with Acadia University at the national USport championships.
• Earned designation as an Academic All Canadian for Varsity Athletes.

Vanessa Legge, Swimming
• Memorial Sea-Hawks travel team and relay specialist, she was also recipient of MUN/Swim NL Entrance scholarship.
• In off season she continues to train with the Mount Pearl Marlins, competing in the Florida invitational in June.
• She volunteers as a coach with the Marlins, inspiring many young swimmers.

Male Athlete of the Year

Daniel Kelloway, Track
• Pearlgate Track & Field Club Senior Male Athlete of the Year.
• Competed with Team Canada at World Francophone Games, finishing 6th in 400 m.
• 400 m silver medal at GNAC Outdoor Championships, and Bronze at Indoor Championships, running with Simon Fraser University.
• Named to Athletics Canada Next Gen program for Olympic prospects.

Sam Leawood, Swimming
• Swam with Memorial Sea-Hawks competing in individual and relay events, and a team leader.
• Sam competed at AUS and U Sport National Championships and is ranked “second fastest” freestyler in the province.
• And also continues to support Marlins swim team and volunteers.

Shane Chafe, Bowling 
• Locally Shane won high average in three leagues.
• He was Provincial Masters Champion for 2017.
• The first national men’s masters champion for NL since 1976.

Stephen Cutcliffe, Rugby
• Playing loosehead prop for the Dogs RFC, Stephen was named MVP for the final game as the Dogs won the Goodyear Cup for NL Senior Men’s “A” division rugby.
• He also played both sides for NL Rock team (loosehead and tighthead prop) and was key to dominance by the NL side in narrowly losing to NS in Atlantic competition.

Coach of the Year

Al Ducey, MPSH Volleyball
• Coached the senior boys team Gold medals at Provincial Volleyfest and Regional meets.
• Narrowly missed winning SSNL 4A Championship and Dal Classic meets losing in semi-final.
• His team qualified for Super Nationals coming up in May.

Alicia Vey, Summit Synchro
• Head coach of the “winningest synchro team” in NL, Alicia lives, eats and breathes synchronized swimming.
• She has developed more coaches than any other club, and has even extended her stay here in NL to help train her replacement head coach.
• She has worked with Synchro NL to create a National Team Stream, to pilot the Can Swim program, and to Coach the Canada Games Team.

Gerard Power, Pearlgate Track & Field
• Coaches 25 athlete three to four days a week, including champions in Provincial Junior Men’s 100 and 800 metre.
• Head Coache for NL Legion National Championship team – the youngest ever.
• Coordinated 7 meets last year, and is trained at the Athletics Canada Club Coach level.

Terry Chaytor, Dogs Rugby
• Co-coach of Dogs Senior A & B teams; the Senior A team winning the Goodyear Cup Provincial Championships.
• Also co-coach of the Rock U18 7’s team competing in the National Championships for past two years, and improving its position to 5th place in 2017.

Executive of the Year (the Peter Halliday Memorial Award)

Claudette Whelan
• In 2017 Claudette served as Vice President of Campia Gymnastics & was a Board Member for Sport Alliance.
• She provided much leadership to the human resource management aspects of Campia’s new strategic plan, and also looked after volunteer coordination for the “Big Dream Invitational” (Campia’s main fundraiser).

John Kennedy
• Past President of Marlins Swim Team, and current President of Swim NL.
• As Swim NL President John has provides strategic leadership and has helped build a collaborative board and organization.
• John continues to serve as Meet Manager for the Marlins.

Shane Chafe
• President of the NL 5 Pin Bowling Association where he manages a huge organization “to do” list for the province, and works with the National Board.
• Shane continues to work with the local YBC program and bowlers week after week.